Home » Tips

How to Authorize or Deauthorize iTunes Account on Multiple Systems

Apple allows users to authorize up to 5 computers (PC/Mac) to sync purchased iTunes contents(including ebooks, music, movies, etc) to iPad and other Apple devices. If you’ve recently been switching around from one PC to another computer, you might have problems syncing your iTunes Library purchases. And if that’s the case, you’ll probably need to authorize your new PC to access your iTunes account-and deauthorize your old machine- before you can sync all your iTunes stuff. Here’s a simple guide to authorizing or deauthorizing your iTunes account on multiple systems.

Authorize Your Computer in iTunes

1. Download the latest version of iTunes that’s appropriate for your computer from the iTunes website. Try to avoid signing up for Apple’s newsletter.

2. Click the Store menu, and then select Authorize This Computer.

3. A window will prompt you for your Apple ID and password. Fill in the appropriate information, and then click Authorize.

4. After your submission, your computer will be authorized for playback, and a dialog box will indicate how many computers you have currently authorized to access your Apple account. If you have reached your limit, it’s time to deauthorize another machine.

Deauthorize Your Computer in iTunes

1. Open iTunes on the computer you wish to deauthorize.

2. Open the Store menu, and then select Deauthorize This Computer.

3. A window will prompt you for your Apple ID and password. Fill in the appropriate information, and then click Deauthorize.

That’s done. Managing which computers are allowed to access your iTunes account can be a hassle. You’ve imposed order upon the chaos that was your iTunes account registration!